top of page

The 1990's

New technology drove significant changes in the construction industry throughout the 90’s and helped redefine how the association would serve its members. With the launch of its first website, followed by an online plans center, the AGC was able to connect with more members in new and exciting ways. Membership grew significantly during this decade, due in part to a focus on safety and the creation of the Retro program.


National AGC declares the 1990’s the “Decade of Safety”. In response, the local chapter hired it’s first safety director and purchased the AGC Safety Van.


I-695, the first $30 car tab initiative, passed in Washington State,  devastating the road construction budgets of many local governments. AGC strongly opposed the initiative .


Inland Northwest AGC and AGC of Washington partner together to form the AGC Retro Program.

Don Herak is presented with the AGC’s SIR Award. The SIR Award is one of the construction industry’s highest and most prestigious recognitions of accomplishment, and acknowledges individuals  that demonstrate outstanding Skill, Integrity & Responsibility.


AGC Executive Director Merwin Cederbloom retires after 28 years of service to the Association.


The Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena, built by AGC Member Garco Construction, opened to the public on September 10.

AGC’s Carpenters and Equipment Operators apprenticeship programs are approved by the Washington State Apprenticeship Council.



1990    Larry Swartz, Lydig Construcion

1991    Ronald Clark, ACME Concrete

1992    Terry Goebel, Robt. B. Goebel Construction

1993    Frank Etter, Garco Construction

1994    Dan W. Murphy, Central Pre-Mix Concrete Co.

1995    Richard Richter, George A. Grant, Inc.

1996    Jerry Cox, Steelman-Duff Construction

1997    Joe Levernier, Levernier Construction

1998    Tom Clark, T.W. Clark Construction

1999    Eric Brown, Brown Contracting & Development

New Members

1990   Abadan Reprographics

1990   Eljay Oil Co., Inc.

1990   Hilmes Construction Inc.

1990   L & M Truck Sales, Inc.

1990   PacWest Machinery, LLC

1992   AM Landshaper, Inc.

1992   Copenhaver Construction, Inc.

1992   Dupree Building Specialties

1992   Strata, Inc.

1993   Dunn & Black P.S.

1994   Adams & Clark, Inc.

1994   Barnes, Inc.

1994   Champion Concrete Pumping, Inc.

1994   GeoEngineers

1994   Liberty Mutual Surety

1995   Red Diamond Construction, Inc.

1996   7 C's Construction, Inc.

1996   Burton Construction, Inc.

1997   ACI Northwest, Inc.

1997   Colvico, Inc.

1997   Northwest Cooperation Fund/Lecet

1997   Piersol Construction, Inc.

1998   Arrow Construction Supply, Inc.

1998   Brown & Delaney, P.S.

1998   Cegnar Co.

1998   FMI-EPS, LLC

1998   Icon Corporation

1998   Idaho Asphalt Supply, Inc.

1998   T.W. Clark Construction, LLC

1999   Atlas Sand & Rock

1999   Cascade Windows

1999   Shawn Cole Construction

bottom of page