top of page

The 2000's

A new building, a new director and a renewed focus on transportation funding marked the early years of the new millennium. The long-awaited North Spokane Corridor, built predominantly by AGC members, broke ground and the first drivable section opened to the public during this decade. The recession in the mid-2000’s hit the construction industry hard as companies were forced to lay off employees, many of which never came back to the industry, hampering recovery.


On August 22, 2001, contractors’ broke ground on the first segment of the North Spokane Corridor. The AGC helped celebrate this milestone and began a long tradition of support for the much-needed freeway.


AGC partners with WSDOT and local contractors to bring back the Construction Career Day event at the Spokane County Fairground. Over 600 students attended.


Washington State Legislature approves the “Nickle Package”, a 5-cents per gallon gas tax increase, which included $189 million in funding to the North Spokane Corridor. 


The first drivable section of the North Spokane Corridor is open to the public. The AGC begins the Keep Spokane Moving campaign to secure the funds needed to build the remaining sections that will connect to I-90.


Under the leadership of Tom Stewart, the AGC began a complete remodel of its building on East Trent. The project was designed by Bernardo-Wills Architects and built by Lydig Construction.


Wayne Brokaw became the 8th Executive Director of the Inland Northwest AGC on April 1, 2002.


AGC presents it’s first Build Northwest Awards to recognize exceptional construction projects across the Inland Northwest. 6 projects won awards the first year, including the Monroe Street Bridge Historic Rehabilitation.



2000    Lonnie Cargile, L&L Cargile

2001    Steve Robinson, Spokane Rock Products, Inc.

2002    Tom Stewart, Frank Gurney, Inc

2003    Jim Cameron, Cameron Concrete

2004    Ken Schwartz, Lydig Construcion

2005    Jim Paras, Paras General Contractors

2006    Max Kuney, Max J. Kuney, Co.

2007    Chris Kopczynski, Kop Construction, Inc.

2008    Walt Haneke, ACI Northwest

2009    Clancy Welsh, Garco Construction

New Members

2000   Ark Commercial Roofing, Inc. 

2000   Bernardo-Wills Architects, PC 

2000   Environmental West Exploration, Inc. 

2001   Skyview Construction Co 

2002   Acme Concrete Paving, Inc. 

2002   DCI Engineers 

2002   Great Northern Masonry Co. 

2002   Wendle Ford Nissan 

2003   Alliant Insurance Services, Inc. 

2003   Coffman Engineers 

2003   Continental Contractors, Inc. 

2003   Williams Scotsman 

2004   ALLWEST Testing & Engineering 

2004   D.T.I  Ready Mix / Dawson Trucking Inc. 

2004   Intermech, Inc. 

2004   John F. Dierdorff CPA PLLC 

2004   Storhaug Engineering, Inc. 

2005   American Rock Products 

2005   Campbell & Bissell, PLLC 

2005   DSI Construction, Inc.  

2005   Federal Engineers & Constructors, Inc. 

2005   Power City Electric, Inc. 

2005   Sunshine Disposal & Recycling 

2005   Tombari Structural Products, Inc. 

2006   Harbor Offshore, Inc. 

2006   M & L Construction, Inc. 

2006   Rock Placing Company (RPC) 

2006   WHECO Corporation 

2007   Clearwater Construction & Management, LLC 

2007   Cobalt Truck Equipment 

2007   Five Star Concrete, Inc. 

2007   Halme Construction, Inc. 

2007   Hill International 

2007   Inland Insurance, Inc. 

2007   Phoenix Company 

2007   Versatile Industries Inc. 

2007   Western States Equipment Company 

2008   American Ironworks & Erectors, Inc. 

2008   Eucon Corporation 

2008   Pipkin Construction 

2008   Robert Crick Law Firm, PLLC 

2008   Star Rentals 

2008   Titan Truck Equipment 

2009   A & R Construction Inc 

bottom of page